Verses to Use When Comforting Others

It has been said that Job’s friends were great comforters until they opened their mouths.  While it is true that one of the best ways we can comfort those who mourn is just by being with them, we still have an obligation to speak words of truth to those who are hurting: “The Lord GOD has given me the tongue of those who are taught, that I may know how to sustain with a word him who is weary” (Isa 50:4).  The following is a list of verses I have compiled that can be used to bring comfort and hope to the children of God:

Genesis 18:25: Shall not the Judge of all the earth do what is just?

Deuteronomy 29:29: The secret things belong to the LORD our God.

2 Samuel 12:18-23: I shall go to him, but he will not return to me.

Job 1:21: The LORD gave, and the LORD has taken away.

Job 2:10: Shall we receive good from God, and shall we not receive evil?

Job 13:15: Though he slay me, I will hope in him.

Job 19:25-27: Yet in my flesh I shall see God.

Job 42:1-6: I know that you can do all things, and that no purpose of yours can be thwarted.

Psalm 1:1-6: For the LORD knows the way of the righteous, but the way of the wicked will perish.

Psalm 23:1-6: The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.

Psalm 34:1-22: I will bless the LORD at all times; his praise shall continually be in my mouth.

Psalm 73:23-28: My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.

Psalm 116:15: Precious in the sight of the LORD is the death of his saints.

Psalm 139:16: In your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me.

Isaiah 6:1-7: Holy, holy, holy is the LORD of hosts; the whole earth is full of his glory!

Isaiah 25:6-9: He will swallow up death forever; and the Lord GOD will wipe away tears from all faces.

Isaiah 26:19-21: Your dead shall live; their bodies shall rise.

Isaiah 65:17-25: No more shall be heard in it the sound of weeping and the cry of distress.

Hosea 13:14: O Sheol, where is your sting?

Habakkuk 3:17-19: Yet I will rejoice in the LORD; I will take joy in the God of my salvation.

Matthew 10:29: And not one of them will fall to the ground apart from your Father.

Luke 23:42-43: Today you will be with me in Paradise.

John 11:25-26: Whoever believes in me, though he die, yet shall he live.

John 14:1-3: And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself.

Romans 8:28: And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good.

Romans 8:31-39: If God is for us, who can be against us?

Romans 14:7-9: So then, whether we live or whether we die, we are the Lord’s.

1 Corinthians 2:9: What God has prepared for those who love him.

1 Corinthians 15:50-58: And the dead will be raised imperishable, and we shall be changed.

2 Corinthians 1:3-7: Who comforts us in all our affliction.

2 Corinthians 4:17: For this slight momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison.

2 Corinthians 5:1-10: And we would rather be away from the body and at home with the Lord.

2 Corinthians 12:9-10: My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.

Philippians 1:20-25: My desire is to depart and be with Christ, for that is far better.

Philippians 3:7-14: That I may know him and the power of his resurrection, and may share his sufferings.

Philippians 3:21: Who will transform our lowly body to be like his glorious body.

Philippians 4:6-13: For I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content.

1 Thessalonians 4:13-18: God will bring with him those who have fallen asleep.

1 Thessalonians 5:16-18: Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances.

2 Timothy 4:6-8: Henceforth there is laid up for me the crown of righteousness.

2 Timothy 4:18: The Lord will rescue me from every evil deed and bring me safely into his heavenly kingdom.

Hebrews 2:14-15: Deliver all those who through fear of death were subject to lifelong slavery.

Hebrews 13:5: I will never leave you nor forsake you.

1 Peter 1:3-9:  To an inheritance that is imperishable, undefiled, and unfading, kept in heaven for you.

Revelation 1:17-18: And I have the keys of Death and Hades.

Revelation 4:8-11: For you created all things, and by your will they existed and were created.

Revelation 5:6-14: Worthy is the Lamb who was slain, to receive power and wealth and wisdom and might and honor and glory and blessing!

Revelation 6:9-11: I saw under the altar the souls of those who had been slain for the word of God.

Revelation 7:13-17 Therefore they are before the throne of God, and serve him day and night in his temple.

Revelation 14:13: Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord from now on.

Revelation 21:4: He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more.

Leave a Reply

